Monday, 17th October 2016

Monday

Monday

97 responses to “Monday, 17th October 2016”

  1. interiorbc says :

    It snowed, then it went away…it will be back…

  2. Paul says :

    Inty -that picture reminded me a bit of when i was a kid .I remember it had snowed heavily and had actually settled which doesn’t often happen in Inner London.Anyway for a short while it was like a winter wonderland and great for having snowball fights.Yet one morning the snow had completely disappeared and i remember how deflated i felt.

  3. emmachisset says :

    evening folks,

    ‘scuse me venting 🙂

    FUCKING LIDL BASTARDS ARSEHOLES ETC ETC.

    Got a call from our office today, asking if I’d been to Lidls last week.

    They ‘gave’ me a parking ticket for being in their fucking carpark for more than ten minutes !!!!

    FFFFFFFS ! £90 ,but I only have to pay half if i pay promptly.

    Never heard of such shit. Apparently if your shopping takes more than ten minutes you have to register the vehicle with them for a 90minute permit.

    Ten minutes, with their queues ????

    When did they invent these stupid rules and how the fuck are we supposed to know about them?

  4. interiorbc says :

    Paul, same feeling growing up in Vancouver, we used to get snow in the city occasionally in winter and it was so special.

    emms, that just sounds wrong, L90 is a lot of money, about $135 CDN which is shocking…can you talk to a lawyer who helps non rich people?
    We call it Legal Aid here.

  5. emmachisset says :

    hi Inty,

    I havent’ seen the letter yet, being a company van it went to their office, but i’m told it’s not directly from Lidl, but an outsourced company that supervises their car parks,

    I suspect that it may not be legally enforcable, they just hope people will pay up .

    If it’s solely up to me, i will contest it, or just plain ignore it, but ‘the boss’ might have a say in the matter as it is his van, and any legal paperwork would head his way, not mine.

    Just to add to the fun i broke a wing mirror this week too, which cost me £135.

    My wages this week don’t even cover the rent, after taking out £45+£135.

    Isn’t work just fine and dandy.

  6. interiorbc says :

    Why would you have to pay for the company van?
    Don’t they have insurance?
    Sounds like more than a bit of a rip off I am sorry to say.

  7. emmachisset says :

    ah, Inty,

    i don’t know how insurance works over there, but here, even ‘fully comprehensive’ cover comes, usually, with an ‘excess’ charge , meaning that you still pay the first part of any claim.

    eg on a car of mine i had a £350 excess, which i chose to keep the premium down, but regretted later.

    £100 or £150 is more normal, which just means there’s no point in making small claims, especially as they then fiddle about with the no claims element of it.

    but yes, i agree, he should cover these things. Last month he took £50 from my wages to replace the cracked screen on my company iphone !

  8. interiorbc says :

    You do have to pay the deductible here emms, which sounds about the same in terms of costs, but this is a company vehicle.

    Also, paying for your company phone sounds wrong…he is nickel and diming you as we say here.
    ( a nickel is .05 cents and a dime .10 cents, which are penny ante amounts, ergo the phrase ‘nickel and diming’).

    We have the B.C. Labour Relations Board here and Labour Standards – all Provinces have something similar to protect workers rights.
    Do you have anything like that? If so, I think you should consult them.

  9. interiorbc says :

    Hi 51, glad to see you chime in with something local for emms to refer to.

    How are things with you?

  10. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Inty, I love the arm knit scarves. Can I justify another scarf, I wonder, I have about a gazillion.

  11. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh, x posts, Inty, not bad, thank you, on the mend distinctly. Back on the road. Unfortunately my hair is coming back pretty much white (everywhere but at the back where it goes a little blonde/red but that’s no good me, I can’t see that bit!) but fluffy and curly. Barry Cryer-esque – if you’re not sure who that is:

    😉 x

  12. Sleepychow says :

    I found you, Bru!

  13. Sleepychow says :

    Nay fret, 51.
    Eventually your hair will be like this:

  14. Sleepychow says :

    Emms,
    You’re right.
    It’s a load of bollocks but I can’t explain now.

    Food needs hunting before we faint.

  15. interiorbc says :

    The arm knit scarves are really nice, and cozy, but I don’t know that the post to Welsh land might prove a bit prohibitive.
    I’ll get her to look into it. $15 – $20 CDN for those scarves is about L10 – L15 (sorry, don’t have a ‘pound’ symbol.)

    Well, the Barry Cryer hair is quite nice and fluffy, and as sleeps points out it may become long and curly a la the pic 🙂
    White hair is quite nice, and you can wear stronger colours like purple and emerald green with it, if it suits your skin tone.
    I find I am wearing more purples than I used to, and I love hunter and emerald greens.

  16. interiorbc says :

    I love this!

    “When I am an old woman I shall wear purple
    With a red hat that doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me,
    And I shall spend my pension
    on brandy and summer gloves
    And satin sandals,
    and say we’ve no money for butter.
    I shall sit down on the pavement when I am tired,
    And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells,
    And run my stick along the public railings,
    And make up for the sobriety of my youth.
    I shall go out in my slippers in the rain
    And pick the flowers in other people’s gardens,
    And learn to spit.
    You can wear terrible shirts and grow more fat,
    And eat three pounds of sausages at a go,
    Or only bread and pickle for a week,
    And hoard pens and pencils and beer mats
    and things in boxes.
    But now we must have clothes that keep us dry,
    And pay our rent and not swear in the street,
    And set a good example for the children.
    We will have friends to dinner and read the papers.
    But maybe I ought to practise a little now?
    So people who know me
    are not too shocked and surprised,
    When suddenly I am old
    and start to wear purple! ”

    Jenny Joseph

  17. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I’m wearing emerald green right now, as it happens, Inty, but I used to wear it quite a lot anyway as I used to have very green eyes. They changed with the chemo and are still blue. I will let the world know if they ever go green again, I like green. Most of my family have blue, I liked being green.

    The more ahherrrmmm bits (sorry, so early in the evening) came back the original red, eyebrows were always v thin and blonde to the point of invisible, I always had to “enhance” them and are pretty much the same now, so, all in all, a bit of a mix, really.

  18. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Am loving the one long glove, Sleeps. x

  19. emmachisset says :

    Inty,

    workers ‘rights’ are a thing of the past here………….

    eg I went for a part time driving job a while ago…………they offered me the job………..

    I would have had to agree to pay the first £500 of any insurance claim (ie an accident that was my fault, but that can include someone bashing the van while you’re parked ).

    I turned the job down, but was surprised to find out that this is actually legal for them to do it…….

    …so I assume my current boss is equally entitled to pilfer from my pay packet.

  20. justamentalpatient says :

    Lidl thing sounds like bollocks, as does the phone,emms

  21. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    That’s the point of that article, Emms. Only if there is specific mention in your current Contract can your current employer make any deductions. But, if you can’t or won’t challenge him, he prob knows that if you want to keep your job, your short and curlies and well and truly clutched.

  22. emmachisset says :

    Thanks for that link 51, i’ve only glanced at it so far,

    am dashing about cooking, laundering, tidying etc etc,

    it all hinges on the wording of the contract, apparently,

    Strangely enough i’ve been carrying it , my contract, around in my lunchbag for a few days, intending to read it to check on another issue.

  23. interiorbc says :

    Hey justa! Good to see you!
    Did you see the linky to the darling’s warm woollies website on the front page here? About #39 or so….

    That’s funny 51, I am also a ‘green eyed lady’ 🙂
    I didn’t know your eyes could change colour, but then chemo does weird things…

  24. interiorbc says :

    Cue the appropriate tune:

  25. emmachisset says :

    knowing him, 51, he’ll have foreseen these issues and included it.

    but as mentioned in an earlier chat, the problem is he can sack me without giving a reason ( not that i’d be missing much, but getting benefits after a sacking is ‘unlikely’).

    Tenants renting privately have the same problem, in theory, the law gives them some rights, but if they try to enforce them, the landlord can chuck them out on the street, without even having to give a reason ( this does depend upon the type of contract ).

    I liked this bit 🙂

    “Wages deducted for misconduct still count towards the national minimum wage (NMW), so it does not matter if your employee’s overall earnings after the deduction actually fall below the NMW.”

    – I had been wondering if i could claim some benefits for the week, but the answer is of course ‘No’ because wages deducted still count re the NMW.

    ( laughs sardonically.)

  26. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    There was a thing about parking charges recently, too, Emms, buggered if I can think where I read it or when, though. I was about someone who got towed off a service station and the service station tried to make him pay for overstaying. The law on that (and it is defo outside my area) says that if your employer can identify who was the driver, the driver can themselves challenge the charge. In your case, I’d suggest you tell your employer that you intend to do that and just write to Lidl and the car park owner explaining that you were shopping in Lidl at the time, would be good if you could send them copies of a receipt supporting that. Then you just tell them that you were not aware of the rule and ask them to cancel the charge. They just might.

    I did find an article, but I’m afraid it’s in the Sun, I poss read it in the Mirror but my search terms turned up this, hope it helps:

    https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/1971770/driver-baffled-after-receiving-100-parking-fine-when-his-broken-down-car-was-on-the-back-of-a-tow-truck-at-service-station/

  27. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    We’re doomed, Emms, doomed I tell ye. 😦

  28. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Inty, I kept meaning to ask the chemo team if it was a known “thing” but other things came to mind first at the time, it just slipped my mind. I am back with the “team” in a couple of weeks, though, just for a review, so I’ll put it on my list of questions. Blue is clearly the predominant gene in my family, my bros and dad and son all have it. So maybe Mum’s gene or wherever it came from was overridden by the medication but it was clearly the medication. It did weird things they never tell you about, like put ridges in your nails, they’re pretty much grown out now but for ages, every time a ridge grows to the top of the finger, off it snaps. I can cope with having blue eyes and short nails for a while, I am back on the road, road trip all planned, I am beating it, I said I would. x 🙂 x

  29. interiorbc says :

    You are an inspiration 51, a very brave and determined girl.
    You have my complete admiration and respect.

  30. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Hiya Justa. Look in your mailbox. Finally! x

  31. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    And all the breast cancer charities, the medics that I have met and those that I haven’t all have mine, Inty. I know that if you’ve got to get it, that is the best one to get, a high survival rate, lots and lots of research and funding. I am enormously grateful. x

  32. justamentalpatient says :

    Fecking phone…

  33. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Not again lovely x 😦 x

  34. jamesvalenciano says :

    Evening all !
    This evening, I worked, ‘cos there’s work to be done. Heigh ho. So no wandering off to the Commune d’Aligre, this place where they organise things around this place where there is a massive market.
    Nuits probably knows the Marché d’Aligre.

    So, work schmurk: I must find some way to chuck it in 🙂

    Bru, that read hat and swirling black cape or coat, now I have a vision in my head: Put up a pitcure or new avatar, why don’t you ? It sounds… well, fabulous is the only word which will do 🙂

  35. jamesvalenciano says :

    Evening all spam angels, there’s one I’ve just posted about Bru’s red hat and things which has gone awol again.

    I think I did something bad to the spam goblin, and it’s got me in its sights !

  36. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Xen, how was ork? How was work, Xen? Nope, can’t think of another way of phrasing that.

  37. justamentalpatient says :

    More tempted to smash it than put it in freezer!

  38. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    How about, you put it in the freezer whilst you think about how you might smash it? I know, call me Mrs Reasonable. 😉 x

  39. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I could ask this, Xen, actually, I could ask this in a Welsh way:
    “Sut yr oedd y gwaith?”

    You have to say “Shut ur oith guwithe”. Getting there.

  40. Sleepychow says :

    Emms,

    1) Are there signs explaining the spurious time limit?

    2) Are they clear enough?

    3) Approach the Lidl people: Manager I s’pose (or DO go higher if you can find a big boss). Tell them what their knobbing parking contractors are doing and explain it’s bad form and not very good customer relations.

    4) Ignorance of signs is no good reason for non payment. Same with a ticket “falling off the dashboard”. Do not try this as it just says you admit you were there.

    Last resort is pay what you would’ve paid if you’d’ve parked on the street for however long you were there – legally this is all they can charge. Chancers, they are, and they know what they’re doing is totally illegal. It’s been proven in court but they figure folk don’t know the ruls and will pay whatever they try to panic you into paying.

    We had similar: Money Saving Expert explained it well enough that instead of paying a £120 (£60 for prompt payment) fine we stuck a tenner (the cost of parking on the road for a day) in an envelope with a stiff formal letter.

    No further correspondence ensued but we did make it clear we knew what they were up to and it was illegal and proven. Even in the High Court, I think.

    You can, we found, just ignore the thing: They ‘re not going to take you to Small Claims for such a tiny and illegal amount. I didn’t want to risk that despite all the evidence.

    Scardy cat me.

  41. Sleepychow says :

    Went late night shopping.
    Bought lots of naughty things for H’s surprise packed lunch*.
    Bought wine for self .
    Packed naughty things in stinky bag coated in spilt sweet coffee.
    Got distracted by stickiness.
    Left wine in shop.

    Retrieved wine.

    Not embarrassed at all, as it happens, just slightly miffed by the time-wasting and forgetty head.

    *It’s pasta tomorrow. She never says no to pasta.

  42. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    It’s ok to talk about it, you know, it will happen to about 50% of us once we hit 60, the “C” word. Whatever organs you have, it could occur in them. There are different treatments for different cancers, not all make you lose you hair and you don’t have to be scared of them. 3 of my chemo treatments didn’t hurt me at all. The other 3, a bugger for a week or so a few days after. But they can give you things that help a little. Then surgery, that didn’t work so well first time for me but did for loads of others I met (they expect 90% success first time, I just got unlucky). Then radiotherapy. Well, that is a thing. They say “if you’ve done the rest, this is a doddle. Not really cos you’re a bit fooked afer all the other things. Then you get to the end of that and they tell you “sorry, it will get worse for a bit cos it stays in you even when you’re not getting it”. But it is not getting worse any more, it is getting better.

    I sincerely hope it never happens to any Chundie. But please, check your bits I didn’t cos “cancer is not a thing in our family” so I was the first.

    Can’t say I will ever be sorry about it. It’s an odd thing. I am glad I learned everything I learned and met everyone I met. But happily taking the tamoxifen to stop the bastard coming back. Look after yourselves. xx

  43. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Retrieved wine

    Best sentence in that. As well as pasta and surprise lunch.

    I is not going to be coaxed into saying anything at all about stickiness.

    Sweet coffee, btw, should be a crime.
    😉 x

  44. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Arrghhh! I do not need a courier to deliver me HP ink cartridges, my postman could do that. I “may have to provide ID”, It’s my fooking house, how about he provides ID? Mad, I tell you!

  45. interiorbc says :

    You may have to provide ID for something you ordered sent to your house?
    Mad? Mad as a box of frogs 🙂

  46. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Inty, I got a new satvav the other day, the courier said “can you confirm your surname?” and I thought “yes I can but you’re holding a parcel under your arm with my name on it with my name on the side facing me, so if I was smart and a liar, I could do that too”. Never said it though. Mostly cos I was in the house I’d had it sent and billed to when they knocked on the door. Who did they expect? 😉 x

