Saturday 15.10.16

Watercolour of Vienna by Sunga Park

75 responses to “Saturday 15.10.16”

  1. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Isn’t there now 2 peeps wishing Mrs C’s demise? I was just writing to my bro whilst Columbo on, so perhaps not. Marmalade. What will Paddington say?

  2. jamesvalenciano says :

    Ah: can someone check the bin ? A fine comment what I just wrote is evaporated. Not there. Absent.

    Or I’ll have to write it all over again.

    Incidentally, evenin’ Justy !And Fifty ! And Xen ! And others above, possibly.

  3. jamesvalenciano says :

    Oh ? What happened there: Now everyone has vanished !

  4. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Great if Mr L is doing a talk in your neck of the woods, unmissable, I would think. And along the lines of “do not go gently”, if the G piece is to be relied upon.

  5. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Still here James, hang on a min, I’ll nip back, you got a topplypopply, I’ll see if I can see anything before it from you.

  6. justamentalpatient says :

    You totped,james! Howdy!

    I might have seen this documentary before 51

  7. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Nothing before it from you, James. Not for the first time, I was bottoms. I really must remember to count.

  8. fingsaint says :

    Released you from spam James but at the cost of your previous totp I’m sorry to report 😉

  9. justamentalpatient says :

    Aye fiery.

  10. jamesvalenciano says :

    So as I was saying before things evaporated and everyone else too (I’m only joking, I know it was a “totpo of thehe page” colloquially known as a “tottpage” by the cognoscenti).
    (Can cognoscenti be colloquial incidentally? I think so.)

    Anyway, as I was saying: Paris is interesting.

    Someone says “come to this music thing in this café here”. So I go along, and it’s a tiny place, and said person has organised a singer to go and sing…. and, reader, the singer in her seventies was absolutely fantastic: Words, performance, were stellar, in a street music sort of sense. The words especially: Songs ranging from environment, to politics, to love, indifference, and all with that gallic tint. Brilliant.

    There were about 15 people there, we all had couscous, and put contributions for the singer in a hat. She had a good night.

    Trouble is she’s a performer, and not a recorder, so there’s no good record of this Brigou, just some fairly awful videos snatched from some performances here and there, probably on a lousy ‘phone or something. See here:
    http://brigittegouessechanteuse.jimdo.com/chansons/

    And then, cycling home, I pass by this other caf. and there was a band doing “I Put a Spell on You”, Screaming Jay Hawkins as you all know. And it was fantastic: it was a slip of a black woman impersonating Screaming Jay, and I’ve never seen a better cover: She got the voice and the scream bang on, which was impressive, given the tones he used to use.
    There’s no recording of that at all.

    Let’s see if the underground spam gnome thief gets this one too 🙂

  11. xenium1 says :

    Hi, Jaume.

    Watching some southern country rock blues etc on Beeb4 tonight. Love it. I’m sure a lot of these folk are/were reactionary rednecks but have always been fascinated by the raw, real sound. Hey ho…

  12. xenium1 says :

    And a lot of the footage is from OGWT. I used to watch that with my dad.

    Nn all… x

  13. jamesvalenciano says :

    Oh ! Everyone popped back https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7kGPhpvqtOcout of the void like a magic trick 🙂 A moment ago, there was me at the topped of tthe page (sic) and nobody else.

    Decidedly odd 🙂

    So, screaming jay hawkins time:

    Fantastic. Saw him in Kentish Town, at the one that got shut down, he was brilliant, with Henry the skull and all 🙂

  14. jamesvalenciano says :

    Hey Xen, that doggone redneck music sure has something going for it ! I’ll have a look on Beeb four.

  15. justamentalpatient says :

    Hi fings
    Night xen

  16. jamesvalenciano says :

    Incidentally, I’ll try and bag a top of the page once, ‘cos I has something very witty and funny to put if it works, and so, well, it’ll be funny 🙂

    You probably guess what I’m going to write if I manage it.

    Oh alright then. The idea is to get “toptopage” and say

    “Where’s everyone gone ?
    Hellooo ?
    I’m all alone here now !
    Come back, I’ll be more quite !”

    Or on second thoughts just put “where’s everyone gone?” because the key to wit is brevity, I think, which is why I’m not a wit 🙂

  17. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Flippin’ ‘eck, Xen, I think my dad would have put the TV screen through if he’d caught us watching Whistle Test. My brother would put it on when they were out and I was most definitely meant to be in bed. Thankfully he left home in 1974 and my Mum became a lot more liberal, musically. She even bought a cassette recorder and recorded Abba. Still, can’t have everything. 😉 Nn x

  18. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Hi Fings. Sorry I de-toplified you, James.

  19. jamesvalenciano says :

    Oh my sainted aunt (has anyone ever really said this? What does it mean ?) it’s now past 1am and I have to work demain.
    Au lit !

  20. jamesvalenciano says :

    Fiftyone, a toptlisfting here or there is a toplifteinting well performed, and that’s the truth, and your one there about Mrs C.’s demise is a fitting one (who is she?).

  21. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Justa is a Columbo fan, James, and I happen to be sort of watching it. Well, in her terms, the wallpaper (not that I have wallpaper) is moving, it is also talking. I was going to watch it but I had a letter to write, and look see what was going on with you, and read here and say nn to Xen, so Justa, what’s going on? (Someone is plotting to kill Mrs Columbo, short answer.)

  22. jamesvalenciano says :

    Hey, Fifty, I’m Columbo fan. In principle, because the ones I saw years ago were great. Where do I get Columbo? In a shop, I suppose.
    I may go to the Filmothèque which has a massive library, I believe, and see what I can borrow 🙂

  23. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    It’s on a few of our Freeview channels here, James. Although by Freeview they mean you still have to pay the licence fee unless you watch them later via a device that is not a TV attached to a device. Or something.

  24. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Well. Should’ve known. Lemon flipping marmalade indeed.

  25. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    My hair is back, btw. Unfortunately it is now white and v curly. I look like Barry flipping Cryer.

