12. 10. 2016

14601114_10209161815515895_6465038567273971457_n (1).jpg

Here’s… Trumpkin!Β 

69 responses to “12. 10. 2016”

  1. emmachisset says :

    hi Sleeps, Β£1.50, …kept the receipt for years I was so shocked

  2. interiorbc says :

    Hey 51…
    Marmite bad, celery good.
    “giggles”

    you know what I like? Football pudding, haven’t had it for decades, but they used to serve it to us for school lunches, I would like to have it again πŸ™‚

  3. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I never buy tea or coffee out, it’s never made right. And I don’t let anyone else make it for me. My coffee is a dessert (or soup) spoon of a decent quality instant and about a third milk, the water must be properly boiling and I can taste if it’s been stirred with a spoon that’s previously stirred a sugared one (picky, moi?). I tried a cafetiere, I could only plunge the plunger about half way given the amount of coffee I had to put in to make it “right”. 2 mugs a day max, in the mornings. So I carry a bottle or 2 of water and the odd little carton of fruit juice at all times so in meetings etc I can say “I’m fine, thanks” and look like I’m being healthy. But then I have to wave away the biccies. This is the flaw in my plan.

  4. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I think I have to ask what is in a football pudding.

    M*rm*te is yummy on malted toast with real butter, half that, other half slice jam, almost any jam. With coffee you can stand a spoon in.

    C*l*ry with soft cheese in the middle and grapes. You can do hard cheese, it just takes more pushing in. πŸ˜‰

  5. neartheclocktower says :

    Coffee is evil, and tea is rarely made right. I have it weak and black so the tea bag is only just introduced to the water. I’m not allowed herbal teas so I tend to just have water nowadays.

    Hi 51, inty and emms.

  6. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Ooh, or c*l*ry in a bloody mary with lots of lee & perrins.

    Or in stew. Or salad. Versatile, your c*l*ry.

  7. neartheclocktower says :

    Football pudding sounds like it should be a stodgy sponge. With lumpy custard.

  8. neartheclocktower says :

    OK, I’ll come out loud and proud.

    I love celery.

  9. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Hi Clocks, that’s just how my Mum has her tea, she never buys tea out, either. Oh, she has milk though. Her teabag lasts the whole day. Eek! (Well, it doesn’t when she visits me cos I like mine so strong I use her bag as well as mine.

  10. interiorbc says :

    As I remember 51, football pudding was some kind of a spongy bread pudding with lots of raisins, I thought it was some kind of Brit thing…

    I put celery in the chicken pot pie the other day, celery in tonight’s stew, celery soup in my chicken curry casserole…and celery in a bloody Caesar with lots of lee & perrins is fantastic, I love lee & perrins Worcestershire also.

  11. Paul says :

    I love celery.

    That’s a hundred lines and a spell in a pol pot re-education centre for you Clocks.Although at least you didn’t say you love rhubarb so i’m confident you’ll soon see the error of your ways. πŸ™‚

  12. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    We have bread and butter pudding, Inty, slices of bread and butter, layered with a little sugar and dried fruit – sultanas, currants, etc, then you whisk milk, egg, nutmeg and cinnamon, pour over and leave it to soak in, then bake. Yummy.

    ^Gramma’s recipe, my kids love it.^ πŸ™‚

  13. neartheclocktower says :

    Went to a new (to us) restaurant today. OK veggie burger but amazingly it was served with chips. Very good they were too. So unusual here to be given vegan food with chips.

    Also had interesting art on the walls. A photo looked like the street downtown we lived on, and I was introduced to the photographer, who couldn’t remember where it was taken. Some nice prints of line drawings of Barcelona – might suggest one as a Christmas pressie to us all.

  14. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I’m arranging lunch with a friend in the X**s run-up, there’s a new shopping centre in Newport with a whole load of “new to Newport” restaurants and one is a burger chain and being indoors since what feels like forever, asked her if she’d been and she had and was bewildered that the burgers don’t automatically come with chips. But I prefer that, especially for lunch. You have the bread, why would you need the chips?

    Says the woman who used to come home and ask Mum “What’re having with chips tonight?”. I might still be a little bit “chipped out”. Still. πŸ˜‰

  15. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I know, I know, I said I was boycotting Newport cos they tore down the murals to the Chartists. But when this is your only local option:

  16. interiorbc says :

    That looks tasty 51, autumn comfort food πŸ™‚

    Paul, you’re just getting the wrong recipes…I make rhubarb lemonade, rhubarb crumble, rhubarb coffee cake, strawberry and rhubarb cream cheese cake… which we have after chicken pot pie with celery…

    tee…hee…hee πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  17. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    We had a lovely dog, springer/lab cross, my best friend growing up. But each morning he took a dump on the rhubarb plant, so , no thanks back then. Love it now though, I am soooo not going to think of where it grew.

    Oh, and I grew up in the magical “rhubarb triangle”.

  18. Sleepychow says :

    Rh*b*rb – tick
    C*l*ry – boo (unless I don’t know about it)
    M*rmi*e – the devil’s very own poo

    Saw an ad on telly for oven chips today: Lots of different “family” situations but ALL the chips were served in ‘ickle tin buckets.
    ffs

    Hoping I sleep better tonight than last. Washing machine, I was.

    NN all.
    x

