Sunday 9.10.16

terriers

34 responses to “Sunday 9.10.16”

  1. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Gosh back to my step-children. Are they Leonardo and Donatello? Michaelangelo and Raphael, then? They have to be teenage mutant hero terriers? ๐Ÿ™‚ x

  2. Bill says :

    Morning. 6° and sunny. I’ve not got to do the hens today.

  3. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I am seeing little independent hens, in their headscarfs, (we know they wear them when we’re not looking, the cockerels go bandanna stylee with theirs) doing their own corn bartering.

    6 de-flipping-grees? Eep!

  4. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oops, sorry, Morning!

  5. Bill says :

    Hi 51,
    Love the image you’ve conjured up. There’s one hen in particular I can imagine in a twin-set and pearls.

  6. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    They do that, Bill, let you know who’s who. I love chickens. And sheep. And cows. (No qualms about eating them though.)

    Gosh, watching Andrew Marr and thinking of where I could build a bunker.

  7. emmachisset says :

    morning folks,

    Doh, Doh, and Doh.

    I’ll get the hang of this new fangled technology eventually.

    Having over 2000 bit s of spam clogging up my gmail account, which sometimes make me miss real ones, I discovered they can be blocked with 2 clicks !

    ( Thats 2000 on the normal part, there are thousands more already automatically arrived in the spambin ).

    Just now i spent 10 mins wrestling with the computer trying to get some sound out of it.

    then remembered that i’d muted it last night when an annoying ad. talked to me.

    Curse you Kevin Bacon.

  8. emmachisset says :

    Oh, and for fans of BBC weather reports.

    yesterday, for here, they gave cloudy but fair and warm, all day, no rain.

    So I went out without a coat and got rained on 4 times. ( admittedly not enough to get totally soaked, but still v. damp ).

  9. emmachisset says :

    Horseradish?

    Has anyone used ‘the real thing’?

    Just discovered a shop that sells it, the size of a huge carrot for the price of a pint.

    Does it store well, that much would last me for years?

  10. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Morning Emms, be v careful, there is something v deadly that can be confused with horseradish, is it hemlock? Will have to go off and google. But it’s something. And one of them grows in watery ground and the other one doesn’t and i can’t remember which way round that is either.

  11. emmachisset says :

    ta 51, but this is in an Organic Farmshop ๐Ÿ™‚

    grown commercially in Germany according to the label. I love the stuff, but there’s a ten year supply in it for me.

  12. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Monkshood, that’s the one. And no, Emms, all have about the shelflife of what they all look like which is a parsnip. Although I am not an expert on monkshood, clearly.

  13. Bill says :

    Running late. G&T anyone?

    Homemade horseradish sauce can be very strong. Use only in a well ventilated room.

  14. emmachisset says :

    mmm, yup, it can be really fiery,

    used to get jars of grated horseradish from Provender, but they’ve stopped.

    all the horseradish sauces/creams etc in the supermarkets are a bit wishy washy, and all have sugar in.

    Colemans is the best of them, -Yes I’ve tried them all ๐Ÿ™‚ but it’s only 30% horseradish.

  15. xenium1 says :

    Afternoon.

    Am making Oor Wullie’s favourite for our tea tonight… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  16. Bill says :

    I shan’t eat again. The pork chop I’ve just eaten was over an inch thick.

  17. emmachisset says :

    cow pie? mince and tatties?

  18. xenium1 says :

    Mince & tatties*, Emms. (Wasn’t cow pie Dan’s dish?)

    *But I reckon Wullie never had cabbage with it. Or used Quorn mince… ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Sleepychow says :

    Hi all.

    I returneth.

    Strange bunch of folk, climbers are.

    Nice enough break with amusing overfull car park issues. One van needed pulling up hill with a rope to stop him falling further into a ditch … and by ditch I mean gradual slope to “I haven’t got a van anymore” -ness.

    The robin* who’s taken a dominant residence nearby found his way into the van today but couldn’t find the way out. A couple of poos and a headache later he was released.

    Oh how we …

    To the unpacking, laundry, feeding, washing etc etc

    *We named him Robin … not sure why.

  20. Sleepychow says :

    Just skimming yesterday’s thread.
    Nice to see Boodge swing by on her birthday.

  21. Sleepychow says :

    … and fings found Friday’s 4-leaf clover.
    Well done: Take a prize of your choice from the chundie of your choice.

    Must admit that I hadn’t found it by the time I’d posted the banner and not until a god while after too.
    At least there was one.
    Ha.

  22. Sleepychow says :

    So if Hermione’s in Wales what do we change her name to for the duration?

    Hhermione?

    Nah.

    To The Things!

  23. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Hermyfanwy?

    Mince and tatties sounds good. Not got cabbage though. Carrots’ll do.

    Been plotting my pootle homeward from Yorkshire, thinking of taking the scenic route, I might go via Ironbridge, never been there.

  24. Paul says :

    So if Hermioneโ€™s in Wales what do we change her name to for the duration?

    Hhermione?

    Hermione ,Y Bachwr Hapus.

    Hope you had a great time in Cardiff Herm ๐Ÿ™‚

  25. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Point to point it’s 195 miles if I go by motorway but only 172 if I pootle. Makes sense to me.

  26. Bill says :

    Sorry I missed boodge. Best ranter on the CU.

  27. Paul says :

    Evening Bill

    If Boodge is the best ranter here who do you think is the best raver ?

  28. xenium1 says :

    Enjoy your pootling, 51.

    Btw, we put carrots & onions in our mince here anyway… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  29. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Cheers, Xen. Won’t be for a few weeks and glad I wasn’t tempted to book yet cos I’ve just been invited to something else – in Sheffland (t’other thing’s in Huddsland, not a million miles away) – the next day.

    There’s fancy, carrots in your mince. When I’m feeling fancy I put tomatoes in mine. Onions too of course. And then I think “what the heck” and serve it with spag. ๐Ÿ˜‰ x

  30. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Fab review of Gino d’Acampo’s “My Restaurant” in the Graun. Well, if you’re anyone but Gino, that is, and I lurrrve Gino. But I think I love Jay’s writing better. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  31. emmachisset says :

    carrots,, ha, glad to hear it

    earlier on i was inspired to make mince’n’tatties, having ye mince spuds ‘n’ onions etc .

    But……………..i had no carrots, and couldnae contemplate eating the sacred dish without them.

    Tomorrow’s another day…………………i may add horseradish.

  32. emmachisset says :

    I saw that ‘bad’ review by whassisname, the guy with the famous mother that eats posh food for a living,

    never heard of the restaurant owner tho

  33. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Eh up, Emms. Am I the only one that didn’t know carrots in mince is a “thing” then?

  34. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh, Gino, he’s lovely, he holds the world record for pulling more x**s crackers in a [insert appropriate time here] and everything. Well, prob not everything. But he has a thing for cooking on Italian rooftops. Which is nice. ๐Ÿ˜‰

