Tuesday, 27 September 2016

36 responses to “Tuesday, 27 September 2016”

  1. Bill says :

    Morning. I’m not getting out of bed until it gets light.

  2. emmachisset says :

    morning all,

    x/4 = 6+ (x-6)/7

    therefore Jeremy is 48 !

    #bottom, sounds like a professional gravedigger to me.?

    ‘ No Expectations’

    Buttercup ?

    “What does the e in e-numbers stand for?”…. …..used to know that one………brain getting old and empty…..

    it’s not emulsifiers ! If in doubt blame Brexit/the EU.

    It’s an Eu number ?? 🙂

    Paris.?

    (?) indicates a guess.

  3. Sleepychow says :

    Will reply later, Emms … keeping you on your tenty hookses.
    48 is right iirc.

    Nice hairdo up there. Bit of a sly look ……

    *zoooooooooooooooooom*

  4. brusselsexpats says :

    Afternoon all – I do love butterflies…

  5. Bill says :

    Phew, that was close. I let the hens out and four hours later it starts to rain.

  6. Sleepychow says :

    Those ones are beautiful, Bru. I think yer reptile thinks they’re even good enough to eat.
    Amazing photo. Well done, whomsoever.

  7. Sleepychow says :

    V close call, Bill.
    Might rain within hours of you settling them in again.

  8. Sleepychow says :

    How do you do that, Emms? That sum thing? I mean, I get the equation but then …
    *head explodes*
    Yes, 48 is indeed correct. You make it look so easy.

    Reposting other questions:

    i) If Tim in the UK is the USA’s Jim,
    Gareth in the UK is the USA’s Dwight,
    and Dawn in the UK is the USA’s Pam …

    Michael in the US is who in the UK?

    ii) What traditional professional manufacturing job did Bottom hold?

    iii) What connection is there between The Rolling Stones and Great Expectations?

    Iv) What is the common name for the meadow flower Primula Veris (bunch of keys)?

    v) What does the e in e-numbers stand for?

    vi) Which is furthest east?

    Lyon
    Paris
    Marseilles

  9. Sleepychow says :

    I’ll give you the e-numbers one too because the e stands for European, apparently.

    Must* try harder on the others.

    *Well, there’s no must about it.

  10. Sleepychow says :

    Found the photo.

    “The picture was taken by photographer Mark Cowen, where it won Special Commendation in the 2016 Royal Society Publishing photography competition.”

    Bravo. Agreed.

    http://metro.co.uk/2016/09/22/sorry-but-this-caimans-real-butterfly-crown-is-way-better-than-your-snapchat-one-6144720/

  11. brusselsexpats says :

    Sleeps,

    Antwerp Zoo has reopened the Butterfly park until October and there’s one in Knokke as well. Last time I visited there were these huge turquoise butterflies flapping around. Gorgeous.

  12. emmachisset says :

    Sleeps,

    sorry, will reply later, just ‘checking in’ before i go out the door for an hour or two…

    ………laters..

  13. interiorbc says :

    Nice butterfly hat!

    Dropping by to say hi, very busy here this week, and a few quick posts on the Graun required, as the Cambridge’s are here and people from other countries (and a very few Canucks) are banging on about how we should become a Republic.
    As if!

    Anyway, hope all are well, and will pop by tomorrow.
    xox

  14. Bill says :

    Hi, bye, into.

  15. Bill says :

    There’s an incredible sunset this evening.

  16. TigerDunc says :

    There was indeed Bill. I took some photos.

  17. xenium1 says :

    How do you know it’s the same sunset if one of you is in Derbyshire & the other is in Sheffield?

  18. xenium1 says :

    I took some photos too. There was no sun. There was a moon. But that’s not for public consumption…

  19. xenium1 says :

    And the answer to one question is David Brent.

  20. xenium1 says :

    Nasty response from my brother. I suspect the sil is behind it. Still, better fuck off before I spill my brains here.

  21. polly says :

    Evening

    Families Xen, who’d have ’em. Particularly the in-law type.

  22. polly says :

    There was an incredible sunset this evening here too. I had plenty of time to observe it as I was stuck on a stationary bus.

  23. TigerDunc says :

    Good point Xen.

    Bill. did your sunset look anythhing like this?

  24. xenium1 says :

    Anyhoo. (Deep breath.) Whoever heard of a flat that had to be emptied of only the tenant’s stuff – not their crap – before they can sell it?

    It needs loads a work done on it anyway. None of which I can do.

    My books & dvds would prolly add to the value. “Oh, look, if we move here, we can read Iain Banks & Gabriel Garcia Marquez. And watch Carry On films or Being John Malkovich. The choice is ours, surely. Ignore the damp patches on that wall…”

  25. Bill says :

    Better than mine TD. Great picture.

  26. xenium1 says :

    Poll, I’ve had it with them. Especially the sil. I knew she was middle-class & a bit up herself but I mostly let that go. She’s turned my brother though – I knew that was going on – & he no longer sounds like a fifty-something Fifer. I’m depressed. Really pissed off. And I dunno what to do.

    I go back to Escocia on Thursday. I really dont want to see them tomorrow. (After my last sms that’s prolly a no-show anyway.)

    Never been so against my brother. Sure, we’ve fought before. Of course. But this is big time. Hey ho…

  27. TigerDunc says :

    I was in the middle of making tea when I noticed it. Had to drop everything and *run and get my camera.

    *I didn’t actually run

  28. polly says :

    Ah well hope it works out Xen, I’m fortunate in having a large enough family to not miss the odd sibling here or there (very odd in the case of my sister).

  29. polly says :

    Some pics of the sunset in Manc here.

    http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/news/greater-manchester-news/amazing-sunset-over-greater-manchester-11947624

    And now I’m going to bed because I’ve been doing volunteer gardening today and it’s exhausting.

  30. xenium1 says :

    Made for Chundrovia?

  31. neartheclocktower says :

    Xen, you’ve got mail.

  32. fingsaint says :

    Hello from Milan

    Xen, sorry to hear that you’re shovelling shit with your bro, spesh when you’re in the throes of clearing out to go back and live with ma xx

  33. fingsaint says :

    Sleeps
    1. Bruce / Sheila (if the question was less northern hemisphere specific)
    2. Weaver
    3. Dick-ins
    4. Snow drops
    5. Emms got this one

    6. Hmmm need to look at a map 😉

  34. Sleepychow says :

    i) David is correct, Xen.
    ii) Bottom was indeed a weaver, Fings
    iii) Jagger
    iv) cowslip
    v) european, Emms
    vi) Marseilles

    So with Emms getting the maths one Emms wins.
    There’s a prize for you in Bill’s fridge.

  35. jamesvalenciano says :

    ‘Afternoon all, time for a siesta here soon. Hard at work before the next stage of moving.

    Fings, what’s this Milan jaunt ? I can’t keep up with this wandering all over Europe. Most impressive.

    Xen, families are, well, families are families. This is why I’m only passing by the family home and remaining a reasonable distance away.

    How’s the writings these days? I talked writing and storytelling with me storyteller mate on the way up, that was good. We’ve decided to regularly exchange stories. In fact I may make a wordpress page to exchange stories with.

  36. jamesvalenciano says :

    Right, siesta now. I’m off to have a siesta!

    Siestas are nice 🙂

