Monday, 12th September 2016

Sixth anniversary of my stroke and I’m still here.
G&T anyone? Cigar?

127 responses to “Monday, 12th September 2016”

  1. xenium1 says :

    Salt’n’sauce?

  2. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    I is not a sausage fan, either, Tybo although if I were to buy one it would be from a good butcher. Can’t remember the last time I had a sausage.

    Do I hear sniggering at the back? 😉

  3. xenium1 says :

    😆

  4. justamentalpatient says :

    Oh, FFS!

    *sulks*

  5. justamentalpatient says :

    Bacon not sausage, as a highly enlightened chap would snigger at one former workplace of mine…

  6. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    And that brings us right back to eggs, you can’t have bacon and chips, can you? Which reminds me, I have some mushrooms need using up. Might try a little omelette tomorrow.

  7. neartheclocktower says :

    We threw out our deep fat fryer because of oil wastage (Mary Berry would be delighted). I use frozen chips (not oven chips) on a wire mesh thing on a baking tray. Sprinkle some oil over and stick in the oven and they usually come out alright.

    Two British women opened up a fish and chip shop in BCN. They went on courses to learn how to do proper chips and everything and they were very good. They got fed up with the sheer hard work and it closed a few years ago.

  8. neartheclocktower says :

    We’re on a healthy eating kick at the moment after too many takeaways and Wetherspoons on holiday. Not to mention the Tesco Meal Deals. 3 pounds for sandwich or salad, crisps and drink. We were staying near one of those dinky Tescos and had a few of them.

  9. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh their Finest deals are soooo good, though, Clocks (hi, btw, not seen a lot of you since you went turquoise, hope you are well?) Dinner for 2, that’s a main course, a side, a pud and a bottle of wine for a tenner but individually it’d be about twice that. Lasts 3 days if I’m on my own, well, not the wine. 😉 x

  10. xenium1 says :

    Wotcha, Clocks. I’ll email you in the next couple of days & we can hopefully meet up soon…

  11. justamentalpatient says :

    You can do the same with fresh spuds, clocks.

    I get oven chips for convenience now, wot wiv ‘avin’ freezer space.

    Those funky fryers are supposed to be really good and you can cook other stuff in them, too. Not cheap, though.

  12. neartheclocktower says :

    51, been busy getting new computer up and running. Also back to school today, so there were books, stationary etc to buy. Hope you get your appetite back soon.

    Xen, looking forward to it. Have a good journey.

    Justa, I’ve made potato wedges from fresh spuds, but not oven chips. Will give it a go.

  13. TigerDunc says :

    They will pay for themselves in the long run J, just in terms of energy efficiency. For e.g if you are doing oven chips, you’ll put your oven on at 200 or so, wait 20 or so minutes for it to warm up and then cook the chips for a further 25 or so minutes.
    With the air thingy, you stick them in, push the buttons and 15 or so minutes later, voila. Much less energy used.

  14. Bill says :

    “Non brewed condiment” kills moss a treat.

  15. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Why did nobody ever tell me you can do the fresh spud thing? ( I knew about wedges, never made the leap ….)

  16. neartheclocktower says :

    Bedtime here, I think. nn lovelies

  17. justamentalpatient says :

    nn clocks and fiddy.

    Might go on the list if IBM pensions ever get their frickin’ act together, but an eye test and new specs take priority, TD.

    Moss is useful stuff, bill!

  18. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Justa, don’t know if it still happens but when I was with CAB, although not a benefits adviser, I did know a fair bit about it. Specsavers had great offers for those on certain ones, and if, for instance, you needed different prescription glasses for reading and distance, it applied to both. I think it was something like £50 glasses for free and then a graduating scale if you chose over that? (So £100 in all.) It was a couple of years ago, though. Worth walking in asking, though?

  19. justamentalpatient says :

    Eye test free, but not so sure on specs. And that’s the big cost. Maybe next time I’m in town. They were good with OG.

    If I can catch one of their offers, it should be reasonable. But I might just get new lenses for these. Depends on the prescription and I’ve started to have problems with reading smaller print of late (short sighted since I was a kid, so this is different).

  20. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Oh and then, I am NHS Wales and you are NHS England. I don’t know what the differences are re that. Son also short sighted since a child, a roofer now, perhaps he doesn’t know how high up he is. He is, though, “Get down, Get Down” would be in my head and out my gob every day if I saw him up there. 😉 x

  21. justamentalpatient says :

    Aye, Wales tends to be better on the provision for those with no wonga front.

    I was so happy when I got free prescriptions for the meds that keep me well enough to not need hospitalisation! Because it isn’t a false economy at all…
    And there is no link between social care cuts and people who are medically fit being stuck in hospital.

    I remember OG driving me home while I was astounded at being able to read signs after picking up my specs around 30 years ago. Happy days.

  22. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Yeah, those on a low tax should automatically get free medication, that way they can afford to take it, it’s what Wales and Scotland (and I could google but I think NI too) sees as a cost saver, long term. xx

  23. justamentalpatient says :

    Long term thinking. Such a good idea.

    Shame we don’t have sensible stuff like that.

    Now get your jim jammied arse to bed, Mrs!

  24. xenium1 says :

    Don’t tell Justa, but I sat down to my first pint at 04:37 this morning. Bottoms up! 🙂

  25. xenium1 says :

    Mixed emotions as I head “back” this morning. I’m off to BCN – a city I love – after two months in dreary Blighty. However, I’m only going for two-and-a-bit weeks & have a helluva stuff to sort out.

    Today, though, the adrenalin should see me through & I’ll see my old barrio & a few colleagues & neighbours & then – in the evening, thanks to the Champions League – I’ll see my footy mates & be distracted by the beautiful gemme. Hey ho…

    (I’ve only had a pint & a half. Honest.)

