Tuesday, 6th September 2016

80 responses to “Tuesday, 6th September 2016”

  1. Paul says :

    Are you still self-employed Clocks ?

  2. Paul says :

    Does Xen still post here ? Haven’t seen him for a while.

    Just seen Herm on cif who’s on great form as ever.

  3. TigerDunc says :

    Well I’ve done most of my chores for the week, although I do have to make a curry tomorrow. The car needs washing too, but that will have to go to the car wash. And I have to get the super glue out. I’m all thumbs when it comes to gluing things. It rarely ends well.

  4. neartheclocktower says :

    Hi Paul, yes. I’m waiting to hear what work I have next (I’ve been working for just one company for the last 18 months so hopefully they’ll keep sending work my way).

    It’s been working out well except the invoice I sent in for June’s work needed approval by my bosses boss as it was so high, and this wasn’t done before the summer hols. I still haven’t been paid and have very serious cash flow problems ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  5. Paul says :

    To absent friends !

    And a track from a favourite old film of mine.Prefer the original to the Jude Law remake.

  6. neartheclocktower says :

    Ooh, is it mending night tonight?

    Now I’ve got a mental picture of a SBJB with his thumbs glued together.

  7. Paul says :

    Sorry to hear about your cash flow problems Clocks.But from what you say it’s a temorary blip which hopefully should resolve itself sooner rather than later ..And sounds like you’ve got a good enough reputation to get regular work.

  8. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Hope that comes through for you soon, Clocks.

    Tiger, me and glue, not best suited. I have a lovely Shelley tea set, sort of heirloom: sugar bowl, milk jug, 2 serving plates, 12 of each cups, saucers, 11 plates and one that is held together with what can be best described as large dollops of stuff that should not be there.

  9. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Tiger, I put a banana in my best curries, an army chef once told me to so I always have since, unless I forget or don’t have any bananas. I know, I know ….

  10. neartheclocktower says :

    Aye, Paul. I know I’ll get paid. Just a matter of juggling with credit card etc until I do.

  11. TigerDunc says :

    Hmmm…. It;s going to be a basic veg curry, nothing adventurous, but I might lob a banana in to see what happens.

    I’ll probably do the curry and then glue the bread bin. (It’s a rather nice blue ceramic bread bin so worth fixing).

  12. neartheclocktower says :

    We had curry tonight. Mr made Aloo Ghobi and the watch and I made an experimental Tofu Tikka Massala (using curry paste). Not bad for a first try – next time less paste. It wasn’t too hot but a little gritty.

    Our eventual aim is to make our own paneer for it, but tofu worked quite well and took in some of the flavour.

  13. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Mash your banana, Tiger, that’s my advice.

    Oh, ^that^ is not re the glowing question. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  14. TigerDunc says :

    I made a chicken tarka

    It’s like a chicken tikka but a little ‘otter.

  15. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    We have otters in our local park, Iolo (pronounced Iolo, the Welsh way) found them.

    (That’s Yollo Williams.)

  16. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    No-one in England heard of Iolo? He is fab. He is like a Welsh and stays in Wales David Attenborough. ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. neartheclocktower says :

    Never heard of Iolo, 51. Strangely enough the watch asked what an otter was the other day.

    Anyway, nn from me, lovelies. It’s still 24ยบ but feels cool enough to maybe sleep.

  18. justamentalpatient says :

    nn clocks. Sleep well and dream of otters.

  19. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Nn Clocks. Otter and beaver, I always get them confused so I wouldn’t be of much help. But I don’t think we have beavers. ๐Ÿ˜‰ x

  20. justamentalpatient says :

    In the Amazon basin, there are otters growing up to 8ft long. Me want a pet otter!

    They can be bitey, BTW.

  21. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Tiger, could you please put him a name badge on cos I don’t know, otter or beaver? I did wave back. though. ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. justamentalpatient says :

    That’s an otter

  23. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    According to the forecast, we’ll all be otter tomorrow!

    Sorry!

    Right, last leg of last trouser done. All this time I have been multi-tasking. ๐Ÿ™‚

  24. fiftyoneandabitmorenow says :

    Right, while we’re quiet, reason I did the trousers tonight, I have to spend a little bit of time (every day) out of the house for the next 3 (max 4 weeks). Counting on 3. I have a squillion pairs of black trousers for the office, these are different trousers, for Velindre, Velindre is a fab place, I have a friend who was an in-patient there, says it was like being in a private hospital. It is also the only place in South Wales that does radiotherapy. It is NHS and charitably funded. The last step.

    If this happens to any of you, and I really hope it doesn’t, it will be scary, but every step you will have beside you the best people who want to know all the very latest things. You will be their priority. Treatment hurts sometimes, yes. And they have not experienced it so they can’t tell you how much it hurts. But there is a better chance than ever it will work. It is working for me.

    And yes, things go wrong: For me lumpectomy needed 2 goes, For my chemo buddy, for her, turned out she did the chemo and lumpectomy that she never had to because her genetics test and advice meant she underwent double mastectomy and reconstruction anyway. She is so very young and so very brave. And so very honest and so much a friend. And no, they could not have done the genetics testing quicker so she could have avoided that because if it was a fast grower, it had to be slowed/shrunk and her given every chance.

    Once, this was a death sentence. For me it has been a “year out”.

    xx

  25. desdemoaner says :

    It must be a pretty amazing place that a junior doctor would have time to sit with you to learn how waiting feels. Or indeed to have a Jr doctor allocated to you to teach them empathy.

